We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Uncertainty Principle

by Ian Boddy

Times Arrow 04:07
Chromazone 05:36
Space Cadet 05:42
Supernova 04:28
Times End 02:58


The Uncertainty Principle was originally released on Something Else Records in 1993 and has proved to be one of Boddy's most popular albums. Conceived as a continuous suite of music the thirteen tracks cover everything from ambient space atmospheres, Berlin school sequencer tracks through to melodic synth instrumentals. The three part title track features Boddy's vocoded voice floating over deep space ambiences and the album is bookended with grandiose classical themes.

This reissue sees Dutch EM label Groove Unlimited working with Boddy to bring the definitive version of this classic electronic music album back to print. Remastered by Boddy himself a bonus live performance from 1993 at the famous Klem Dag festival in the Netherlands adds an extra 19 minutes of material.


released March 1, 2020

All tracks composed by Ian Boddy, except Virtual Journey by David Burns and Ian Boddy (originally composed by David Burns in 1982 as part of a suite of music based on the C.S.Lewis novel Out of the Silent Planet). Produced and engineered by Ian Boddy and mixed to DAT at Something Else Studios
(Jan. - Feb. 1993).

Sequencing: Atari 1040 / Steinberg Cubase and Akai MPC60.
Sampling: Akai S3000, S1000HD and MPC60.
Synths: Roland D550, MKS30 and 100-M Modular System.
Yamaha TX-416 and Korg Wavestation.
Mixing: Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16/8/2.
Effects: Sony R7, Akai AR900, Midiverb II and Roland RE-501
effects units. Roland SVC-350 Vocoder.
Digital Editing: Akai DD-1000.
Mastering: Sony DTC-1000 DAT.

Thanks To:-
Dave Caulfield and all at Akai (UK).
Steve Howell for lots of fab and groovy samples.
Jane Molloy and Julian Maynard-Smith for vocal samples.
Gary Scott and Michael Gullon for cover artwork.
David Berkeley for invaluable help (as ever) at the concerts.

Remastered by Ian Boddy January 2020.


all rights reserved



DiN Sunderland, UK

The DiN ambient label was set up by Ian Boddy in 1999 to release ambient electronica that bridged the gap between the analogue sound of the early 70's synth pioneers and the digital soundscapes of the more experimental modern exponents of electronic music. ... more

contact / help

Contact DiN

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account